Versioning my RESTful service

Topics: Web Api
Sep 27, 2011 at 4:04 PM

I am new to this... I'm trying to use a best practice for versioning my RESTful web service.  It turns out to be relatively straight forward if I want the version number to be part of the url.  If, however, I don't want the version number in the url but instead want it in the requested content type I'm not sure how to proceed.  What I've tried thus far:

Access:application/vnd.me.mine-v2+json

Since different versions need to be serviced by different ServiceContract classes I created different classes and then created a subclass of DelegatingHandler that will parse that from the header and determine the version number.  That part works great but I'm not sure how to proceed from there.  My first thought was to map the services like this:

routes.MapServiceRoute<ContactsApi>( "api/contacts" , config );
routes.MapServiceRoute<ContactsApi>( "v1/api/contacts" , config );
routes.MapServiceRoute<ContactsApiV2>( "v2/api/contacts" , config );

And then in my DelegatingHandler subclass modify the url to insert the version prior to calling base.SendAsync().  My intent was that version specific urls would just be undocumented and the non-version specific url would get the version from the access header and redirect to serve up the correct content.  I can see the url is correctly constructed in my DelegatingHandler subclass and by going directly to that versioned url I know it's responding correctly.  However, when I call base.SendAsync() with the HttpRequestMessage that has my modified RequestUri it just fails with a 404 error.

How should I be versioning my RESTful APIs?

Oct 3, 2011 at 3:24 PM

I'm sure there must be people versioning their APIs so my guess is most people use the url to handle versioning.  I'm going to add an issue suggesting support for an alternate method.

Oct 3, 2011 at 5:38 PM
Edited Oct 3, 2011 at 5:40 PM