HttpClient - Lifetime Intent?

Topics: Web Api
Nov 1, 2011 at 8:18 AM

Hi All,

This may be a complete noob question, however, what is the intended lifetime of an HttpClient instance?

In other words, should a new instance of the HttpClient be created on a per call/request basis or 'could' it be used for a longer period with multiple calls to Get/Put etc. such as for the duration of some session (where session is a medium term period, perhaps not an entire application lifetime) for a particular View/ViewModel lifetime in WPF application.

I'm not seeing much guidance on its specific use pattern and many of the examples are too simple to require a more complex use of the class.

Thanks in advance!

Coordinator
Nov 1, 2011 at 9:31 AM

HttpClient can be reused across calls. It does not hold state about the current message. The thing you want to be careful of is making sure you dispose the messages themselves.

Nov 1, 2011 at 9:42 AM

Thanks Glenn,

To the point and clear!  Also, thanks for the heads-up on message disposal.

Nov 1, 2011 at 1:32 PM

Glenn,

One variant on this question is, can these calls be made simultaneously from different threads (tasks)?

I'm assuming from your statement above that there would be no shared state or resources used during requests/calls.
Is my assumption correct? 

I see in the implementation of HttpClient fields that look like they may not be thread safe (e.g. operationStarted, pendingRequestsCts, etc.) which makes me think this may be an issue.

Also, once a request is cancelled can further calls/requests be made of should the HttpClient be disposed and recreated? 

Lastly, is there a good example of HttpClient being used accross calls and possibly in a multi-threaded way.

I'm starting to feel like using an HttpClient across calls is not a wise pattern to follow!

Thanks!

Nov 1, 2011 at 1:43 PM