Is Class Per Uri/Method Possible

Topics: Web Api
May 25, 2011 at 9:46 PM

I'm just getting started with the new Web APIs and I like what I see, but I'm still pretty ignorant of how the API works and can be extended to fit my architectural aesthetic. Most of the samples seem to favor having a class per base uri. So "/contacts" and the ContactsResource. I would rather have a class per Uri/Method combination. So something like this:

GET "/contacts" ->

public class GetContacts {  

public HttpResponseMessage RespondTo(HttpRequestMessage request) { ... }

}

POST "/contacts/{contactId}/avatar ->

public class PostContactAvatar {  

public HttpResponseMessage RespondTo(HttpRequestMessage request) { ... }

}

Is there a way to achieve this type of "command" architecture?

May 26, 2011 at 12:59 AM
Edited May 26, 2011 at 1:01 AM

Fancy seeing you here, EisenbergEffect. :)

I have not tried this, but I'm pretty sure you can do this. In your Global.asax.cs file, you'd register the routes like this:

private void RegisterRoutes()
        {
            RouteTable.Routes.MapServiceRoute<GetContacts>("contacts");
            RouteTable.Routes.MapServiceRoute<PostContactAvatar>("contacts/"); //note the terminating slash
        }

Then your class definitions would need to look like so:

public class GetContacts
    {
        [WebGet(UriTemplate = "")]
        public HttpResponseMessage RespondTo() {...}
    }

public class PostContactAvatar 
    {
        [WebInvoke(UriTemplate = "{id}/avatar", Method = "POST")]
        public HttpResponseMessage RespondTo(string id) {...}
    }

I think this will work only because WCF Web API is very particular about the slashes in the URIs. I once spent hours figuring out why my web service wasn't working, and it was all due to an extraneous slash that I added to the URI in the call from JavaScript.