MediaTypeProcessor multiple SupportedMediaTypes and parameters

Topics: Web Api
Dec 16, 2010 at 2:37 PM

2 things I've noticed with behaviours that depend on SupportedMediaTypes:

1. The MediaTypeProcessor's ExecuteRequest() and ExecuteResponse() methods match using SupportedMediaTypes.Contains(). e.g.

if (request.Headers.ContentType != null && this.SupportedMediaTypes.Contains(request.Headers.ContentType))
{
  result = new ProcessorResult<object> { Output = this.ReadFromStream(request.Content.ReadAsStream(), request) };
}

However, it's not uncommon to find Content-Type values with additional parameters:

POST /quotes HTTP/1.1
Host: ...
Content-Type: application/atom+xml; charset=UTF-8

If in my media type processor I've specified SupportedMediaTypes as e.g.

return new[] {"application/atom+xml"}

- this isn't going to match. To get around this, I can always do this:

return new[] {"application/atom+xml", "application/atom+xml; charset=UTF-8"}

But as a developer, I don't want to have to anticipate all the likely combination of parameters and whitespacing.

2. I've got a media type processor with the following SupportedMediaTypes:

return new[] {"application/restbucks+xml", "application/xml", "text/xml"};

Even if the client specifies Accept: application/restbucks+xml, the response Content-Type is always "text/xml"

ian

Coordinator
Dec 16, 2010 at 8:33 PM

Hi Ian