HttpClient for Silverlight

Topics: Web Api
Nov 2, 2010 at 2:18 PM

It looks like the HttpClient is not currently available for Silverlight.  Will there be a Silverlight version coming soon?

I love the idea of the WebQuery, but I'm a Silverlight developer and would love to take advantage of it on that platform. 

Coordinator
Nov 2, 2010 at 8:36 PM

Thanks for the feedback. We are looking into ways to make HttpClient available for Silverlight and we are pursuing a more permissive license.

Jan 23, 2011 at 10:17 AM

Hi Glenn,

I am very interested to know the status of using the new API/Framework on silverlight for calling a REST Service.

Does it exist for silverlight? IS there a roadmap?

Thanks

Coordinator
Jan 23, 2011 at 7:10 PM

Hi John

Porting to Silverlight is not in our v1 plans. We will be watching the feedback closely however and if we see a lot of requests for Silverlight it is definitely something we will look into. We are looking into a more permissive license that will allow folks to take the code and use it on Silverlight / create a community SL version in the interim.

I'd suggest you create a workitem for making the client available in SL so others can vote.

Thanks!

Jan 24, 2011 at 1:30 AM

In the meantime, you can use the 'SimpleHttpClient' I created.  Not as powerful as the desktop version, but much more helpful than straight http.  Hopefully it will be included in the contrib project soon.  Links and sample code found here:

http://wcf.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=242981

Coordinator
Jan 24, 2011 at 3:39 AM

Nice job Joe :-)

Jan 24, 2011 at 9:55 AM

Thanks for the comments! I am going to give it a try!

Jan 25, 2011 at 1:35 PM